On May 5, the Kennedy Catholic High School community celebrated 18 current students who were recipients of our Returning Student Scholarships. These students and their families were invited to attend a ceremony to be presented with their awards.

With a few exceptions, most of these scholarships were established by families of Kennedy Catholic students who have passed. These donors present the awards in person to the respective Kennedy Catholic recipient. 

Freshmen, sophomores and juniors are eligible for the Returning Student Scholarships and are awarded based on merit, academic standing, and the quality of an essay about the namesake of the award. This year, we received a total of 399 applications from 108 students. 

This was also an historic year for this ceremony, as the Class of '77 In Memoriam Scholarship was awarded for the first time! The award was co-presented by Nerissa del Rosario '77 and Myrna Moffat '77, who just celebrated her retirement from Kennedy Catholic.

This award, which used to be offered to graduating seniors, is now solely offered to returning students as a way to continue supporting the Kennedy Catholic community. It is given to a student with not only an excellent application, but who has a positive outlook on life and consistently supports classmates through friendly actions. This scholarship was originally established as an endowment fund by the families of two members of the Class of 1977 who passed. Then, at their 10 Year Reunion, members of the class started a committee to ensure its continuation, which has enabled members of that class to donate to the fund for decades. This committee included Moffat '77.

“As a class we are so delighted to honor our friends who have passed, of which there have been nine people...and now it’s in memoriam for everyone.  We love that we get to have this as a perpetual award in honor of our class. And, now, it will be awarded to a current student and they can keep going to school here, and the money then stays at Kennedy Catholic.”  - Myrna Moffat '77

 Congratulations to all!

For more information and the history behind each scholarship: 

Returning Student Scholarship Information

Christopher Bowne Memorial Scholarship
Presented by David and Roberta Bowne
Recipients: Jonathan V., Sarah E.



Charlie Beall Finish The Race Scholarship
Presented by Charlie Beall
Recipient: Charles F.


Class of '77 In Memoriam Scholarship
Presented by Myrna Moffat '77 and Nerissa del Rosario '77
Recipients: Shane M., Caroline K.


Derek R. Orozco Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Denny Orozco and Mark Ward of the Derek R. Orozco Foundation
Recipient: Brandon N., Jadyn M.

Doug Zyskowski Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Gerald and Mary Zyskowski
Recipients: Aya T., Arwa T., Jadeyn F.


Governor Albert D. Rosellini Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Matthew Mohs on behalf of Adam '88 and Lori '87 Rosselini
Recipients: Nathaniel B., Ave D.


Meagan E. Smith Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Anthony and Julie Smith
Recipients: Kayla M., Jack M.

Patrick Witkowski Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Eric Cascio on behalf of Paul and Tracy '81 Witkowski
Recipient: Morgan M.


Paynton Scholarship
Presented by Jim Paynton '92
Recipient: Liam B.


Sister Rose Marie Dillman Memorial Scholarship
Presented by Jenny Farrell '92, Director of Campus Ministry
Recipients: Johnny N., Alexa C.


Terlicker Scholarship
Presented by Colleen Terlicker
Recipient: Camila D.


Subscribe to the Communi-K

Join our e-mail list and make sure you never miss another Communi-K. The Communi-K is published every other month. If you've moved or had a name change, please use the 'update your record' form below.

Update Your Record